UWS SACA Named Chapter of the Year

SACA awards

The University of Western States (UWS) Student American Chiropractic Association (SACA) chapter was named the 2020 SACA Chapter of the Year. The announcement was made during the 2021 American Chiropractic Association (ACA) ENGAGE conference presented virtually this year.

“We are truly honored to be recognized as the 2020 SACA Chapter of the Year,” said Danielle Pettet, past SACA president. “All SACA chapters were faced with many challenges this year, so to be selected for this award is quite the honor. Despite the online environment, we were able to boost our UWS SACA membership and host several successful fundraisers and virtual events. All of these things were made possible by our amazing SACA members and club advisor, Dr. Gary Schultz, who stuck with us during these uncertain times and kept the SACA spirit alive at UWS.”

Through the challenges faced this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, being able to think creatively and keep engagement up with members was critical in keeping members connected. The executive board created many well-attended virtual events to help keep a sense of normalcy and community.

“Working with this SACA executive board has been the antidote to 2020,” said Dr. Schultz. “Each member of this team has embodied leadership, positivity, good humor, creativity and persistence. They truly have been an inspiration both personally and professionally. To be honest, it really was not the least bit surprising to see them awarded SACA Chapter of the Year. I am so very proud of them and the hard work they have put in this year.”

Additionally, Caitlin Jones, past UWS SACA legislative representative was one of four recipients of a scholarship from Standard Process and was also elected to the SACA National Executive Board as the legislative vice chair.

SACA eboard
2020-2021 UWS SACA executive board: President – Danielle Pettet; Vice President – Leah Dash; Legislative Rep – Caitlin Jones; Legislative Assistant – Katrina Parsley; Treasurer – Kailey Koopman; Secretary – Sierra Zinke; Public Relations Chair – Carlee Thomson

About the American Chiropractic Association

ACA is the largest professional association in the United States representing doctors of chiropractic. ACA promotes the highest standards of ethics and patient care, contributing to the health and well-being of millions of chiropractic patients.

On behalf of its members, ACA lobbies for pro-chiropractic legislation and policies, promotes a positive public image of chiropractic, supports research, provides professional and educational opportunities for doctors of chiropractic, and offers leadership for the advancement of the profession.